Haiti Nursing Foundation Board members are involved and talented volunteers. They meet quarterly, with a variety of committee meetings held frequently throughout the year.  They are keenly sensitive to the trust our donors place in HNF and in the FSIL Nursing School.

The Board has overall responsibility for the policies, programs and direction of HNF.  Members are elected for three-year renewable terms, and bring a broad range of nursing education, management, and organizational development expertise.  Nearly every member has been to FSIL, some multiple times.  Each annually signs HNF’s conflict of interest policy.

The HNF Board reviews requests for funding to select appropriate projects, approves grants for HNF to submit, and monitors the expenditures of FSIL Nursing School. HNF’s board is committed to best practices in governance, accountability and transparency. This commitment exists at all levels of the organization.


President ~ Joanne M. Pohl, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP
Vice President/Treasurer ~ John L. Sampselle, MBA
Assistant Treasurer ~ Ruth Barnard, PhD
Secretary, Tom Hunsdorfer, MBA
Hilda Alcindor, BA, RN, FAAN
James Boelkins, PhD
Richard “Nick” Candee, MBA
Carol Loveland-Cherry, PhD, RN, FAAN
Jessie Colin, PhD, RN, FAAN
Pat Farris, BSN, RN
Denise Ferrell, DNP, RN

Monique Jean-Bart Germain, MS, RN, CTN-A, CNE,                                                             APHN-BC
Ada Sue Hinshaw, PhD, RN, FAAN
Jimmy Hite, AIA
Eric B. Lipson, J.D.
Elizabeth M. Lowell, BA
Donna Martsolf, PhD, RN, FAAN
Kaz Soong, MD
Eric J. Williams, DNP, RN, CNE

IMG_9456 (1).JPG
google-site-verification: google6834c671f147e01b.html